A dart, a ball, and a sword

In our two-story entryway, we have a coat closet (though it holds no coats) and it’s great for storage, but there’s one thing kind of off about it. It juts out from the wall and doesn’t go all the way up to the ceiling, so it creates a very tall shelf that can only be seen once you’re about half-way up the stairs.

20120927-141818.jpg

Since this shelf is too tall to reach from the main floor, but too low to reach from the second floor, it is extremely convenient for collecting dust. And, on occasion, a few other things. The other night on my way to tuck in the kids, I stopped (and giggled) when I saw this.

20120927-141658.jpg

There could be a thousand explanations, but I have a pretty good idea of what happened. The kids were shooting their Nerf guns in the house – I know! My mother would have killed us! But we are terrible parents so our kids shoot Nerf in the house. Sometimes they get yelled at, but inconsistency is a big part of our terrible parenting repertoire, so they are often free to cause Nerf-bullet mayhem. Anyway, the kids were shooting the darts and one got trapped (far left).

Now, instead of getting one of the other 175 Nerf darts we have or notifying a parent who could find an appropriate tool for removal, my kiddos used their little noggins to hatch a genius plan. And they stood on the stairs and threw a ball at the stranded dart to try to knock it to the floor. I’m pretty confident in this version of events because we have used that exact ball to rescue suction-cup Nerf darts from the second-story window above our front door. (And since I’ve already admitted to being a terrible parent, I’d like to point out that it was me that successfully made the throw to dislodge the suction dart when everybody else’s attempts failed. I’m very proud of this because it’s common knowledge that I am the person in the house with the least amount of athletic ability!) So despite prior success, it’s clear this time the Ball Rescue Dart mission failed, and the ball also found itself stuck on the shelf.

I suppose it’s also possible that the ball got stuck first, and the dart was shot at the ball in order to knock it off. Although if that was the case, I think there’d be more than one dart – my kids don’t give up that easily. Either way, I believe the sword came in as a last-ditch effort to recover both the ball and the dart. Probably they started off trying to reach out with the sword and sweep off the items, but since neither would have been able to reach, the sword became a spear and was tossed in attempt to knock something down. Again, we can clearly see that this attempt also failed and now we have a dart, a ball, and a sword.

At this point, I’m guessing they were called for dinner, or told to get ready for bed, or some other equally compelling distraction came along (Kickin’ It probably started), and the escalation ceased. It’s probably better that way, because there’s no telling what else might have ended up on that shelf if they had remained determined to complete their mission. Stuffed animals? Beyblades or Barbies? One of their Anywhere Chairs?

We may never know what really happened that day (of course, I could probably just ask K – she’s our reporter/law enforcement/judge & jury), but I will treasure my version and the images I have of the two of them working and scheming together to achieve a common goal.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Kid Stories, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A dart, a ball, and a sword

  1. Jovette says:

    J. great Story! I can see the action just as you describe, how fun to be fly on the wall. For future….reference may I recommend the “swiffer duster” with the telescoping handle it can work quite well for those out of reach areas and you can make it longer if you just happen to be vertically challenged. The two “prongy thingys” at the end make for great “scoopers”

Leave a Reply

