People Solve Problems

Let’s pretend for a minute that my kids told me that I wasn’t “allowed” in their rooms. For the sake of fun, let’s assume that they were old enough to have a reasonable request for privacy so I agreed to honor that request. I would hold to my word to not go into their rooms. That is, unless there was somebody in there trying to hurt them. If I knew that my children were in danger, I would not stand idly by thinking, “I can’t help – I’m not allowed in that room!” In fact, I would break down the door. I would break down 100 doors. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING would stop me from going into that room to protect my children.

Which is why I get so incensed when people are spreading this around as a possible “explanation” for the massacre in Connecticut.

deargod

Either God is a ginormous asshole, or this is not the reason.

We live in a society of people.  And people need to start realizing that people are needed to solve the problems we face today.  And really, when you think about, people are very good at solving problems!

It’s cold and raw meat is icky.
– People learned to build a fire.

This shit is too heavy to drag around.
– People invented the wheel.

It gets really dark at night.
– People invented light bulbs.

It takes so long to write out all these books.
– People invented the printing press.

This polio stuff kind of sucks.
– People discovered a vaccination.

Sailing and driving are so slow.
– People built airplanes.

I don’t have enough pockets for a phone, a camera, a computer, and a music player.
– People gave you the smart phone.

People are pretty good at figuring things out. 

And it’s not that God can’t be part of the solution.  It’s going to take Christians and Muslims and Jews and Atheists and Humanists and people from every other religion to fix this. But the solution isn’t going to be to pray and wait for divine intervention. There are a LOT of problems here. But we are problem solvers, and once we stop ignoring these problems and start addressing them, people will come up with a solution.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Important, Soap Box and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

