JUST STOP IT!

*********************************************************
UNEDITED

I’m not even going to take the time to proofread this even once before publishing, so you’ll have to deal with the bad writing and typos. It’s kind of what one would expect during a rant anyway. I might also drop the f-bomb, so it’s unedited in that respect too.

UNEDITED
*********************************************************

Please tell me I’m not alone in my frustration over the Beyonce pictures circulating the internet right now.  Not the unedited, “unflattering” photos of her looking fiercely human, but the photoshopped memes making her look like The Hulk, the bride of Conan the Barbarian, and whatever else people seem to think is funny. Seriously?  It’s bad enough that women are not allowed to have the “flaws” of cellulite, unplucked brows, or anything remotely deemed unappealing without being picked apart and ridiculed in the wide world of the web, but now we are inventing reasons to ridicule a woman’s appearance?  Give me a fucking break!

Does it make you feel better about yourself to see that someone, who is otherwise flawless in appearance, has ugly moments – even if it’s just a split second?  Do you need to pass around “funny” pictures that exaggerate the imperfection of the human form in order to feel better about your own form?  Do you even know what you look like when you’re exerting any amount of effort to perform any task?  I guarantee you don’t look as good as Beyonce.

Now, I don’t know that much about Beyonce, I know she’s successful and beautiful.  I know she had a kid once, but I don’t know if she’s a good mom.  I thought it was kind of bitchy that they sang Beyonce singles when Destiny’s Child was on, instead of singing Destiny’s Child hits or even something new.  But she’s already living up to an impossible standard and with one stupid picture, it’s suddenly not enough to have perfect skin, perfect hair, a perfect body, a perfect voice, and a perfect career.  Then what, pray tell, IS enough?

I can hear some of you saying, “Calm down, it’s just a joke.” But fuck that.  I’ve got news for you – if you need someone else to look bad (literally or figuratively) in order to make a joke, you’re NOT funny.  You’re just an asshole.  Seriously. 

And I’m not even standing up for Beyonce.  I’m standing up for my own daughter.  Because how can I tell her, “Hey look, honey, you can be smart and successful and talented but you’re going to be judged on your looks anyway. And you can even spend hours a day perfecting that look, but somebody will always find a way to bring you down.  If you show even a split-second of imperfection, the hounds will pounce on it and tear you apart.  If you have one tiny chink in your armor, someone will lance a sword right through and parade the bloody sword around to prove that you had a flaw worth exploiting.  So have fun trying to be perfect, because our society will literally not accept anything less.”

So I’m asking you, I’m begging you to please JUST STOP IT!

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Soap Box, Unedited and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

