Doing Something Right

mom

Most days I fall into this category. There are things I know I’m doing wrong but can’t figure out how to fix in myself, let alone get the kids on the right track. Then there are things that we choose to do that other Judgy McJudgertons would definitely never do with their kids.

My son eats like he’s been raised by wolves, and I have thought about selling him to the next band of gypsies to happen by. In reality, neither wolves nor gypsies frequent our neighborhood. But he also has shining moments that tell me despite all we are doing wrong, we must be doing something right.

We had one of those moments this morning. My young scientist is currently fascinated with the universe. Did you know that our universe could be the result of two other universes colliding (Ekpyrotic Universe)? Because I didn’t. Until he told me. He’s eight.

Anyway, he came downstairs this morning and said, “The world was not created in seven days.”

I said, “I know.”

“Does religion really say it’s seven days?”

“Well, some religions believe it was literally seven 24-hour days and that the earth is only a couple thousand years old.”

“But dinosaurs are a couple million years old.”

“Yep, and some religious people use the seven days story, but know that a ‘day’ could represent an era or a whole chunk of time. So the ‘day’ that the mountains and oceans were created was billions of years of the earth forming.”

He noodled on that for a while and as we got into the car to go to school said, “You know, I think it’s good to listen to people, even if you don’t agree with what they think.”

Critical thinking and tolerance. I guess we are doing something right.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Kid Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

