They say that growing up is hard to do…

I know the song says “breaking up” but I think growing up is hard to do, too.

Tonight as I was tucking in my son he said, “What should we do with all my stuffed animals?  Put them in the basement?”

“Oh,” I said, “are you done with your stuffed animals?”  He nodded.  “Like done done, or just in storage?”

His eyes filled with tears as he looked away and managed to say, “Storage.”

And the light bulb went on.  You see, he turns 9 this week.  And he’s having a sleepover.

“You think you’re too old for stuffed animals?” He nodded, still biting his lip and blinking back tears.  “You don’t think any of your friends have stuffed animals still?” He shook his head.

I tried to get a smile, “What if they do what you’re doing and just hide their stuffed animals when people come over?” I got my smile, but it was a sad smile.

“Ok, we’ll move your stuffed animals to my room while your friends are here.  After they’re gone, we can move them back if you want.”  Another nod.

But I couldn’t leave him without one last lesson and bit of advice, “”It’s ok to love things, and it’s ok to love your stuffed animals.  Especially over these next few years.  You’ll have days when you’re feeling sad like this and just need to hug something.  Sometimes just snuggling will make you feel better.”

He was sick and needed his bear when this picture was taken a few years ago.

He was sick and needed his bear when this picture was taken a few years ago.

And as I sit here typing this now, I think maybe I should keep some of his stuffed animals in my room.  Because if my baby is too old for stuffed toys, I’m going to need snuggle my own tears away.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Kid Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They say that growing up is hard to do…

  1. I think I need a stuffed animal now. They do grow up so fast (and mine is only 6 months old). I hope your son sorts out his dilemma; it’s hard to be a 9 year old boy.

Leave a Reply

