From Literal to Sarcastic

My six year old daughter is figuring out sarcasm, and I think it’s the absolute best! Other than people falling down (aka AFV), sarcasm makes me laugh more than anything else. Please note, there is a difference between being sarcastic and just being an asshole, but that’s a post for another day.

The most entertaining part of my daughter’s emerging sense of humor is that she is also extremely literal. This is not at all surprising given her age and heritage, but it makes for a giggle-inducing transition. At times, I’m more amused by the fact that I can’t tell whether she’s being sarcastic or literal.

Sometimes it’s obvious that she’s flexing her sarcasm muscles. On the way into her piano recital, my husband was talking her up and said, “Are you really going to go in there and play with your cast on?” Without missing a beat and with a completely straight face, she replied, “No, I’m taking it off.” My heart swelled with pride.

Other times, it’s less obvious. One night as I tucked her in I told her that I “loved her more than the moon.” Immediately and seriously she said, “No, the moon doesn’t love me.” Hmmm, could be a joke, but it also sounds like something she’d say as her literal self. Either way, it made me smile.

After she pulled off a particular laugh-worthy sarcastic moment (which of course I now can’t remember), I told her, “You are getting really good at sarcasm! I don’t know where you get it though, since nobody else in our family is sarcastic.” She looked at me for a moment and said, “Wait… you’re being sarcastic, right?”

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Humor, Kid Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Literal to Sarcastic

  1. Sarcasm can be so fun! It must be so awesome to hear your daughter use it! We’re pretty strong on sarcasm around here too so I suppose my son will pick up on it in a few years.

  2. Pingback: First Grade Comedy | A Perfect Day for J

Leave a Reply

