Size Matters

As we’re getting ready for our vacation of a lifetime – a Disney cruise around Italy (I know! Can you even stand the excitement??) – we’re doing a little research so the kids can appreciate some of the sights that we plan to visit. They’ve each picked out something special for their must-see list.

For my son, it’s the Bridge of Sighs. It was mentioned in a book that he read, and it’s the thing he’s most talked about as we get closer to our departure date. Here’s one of our conversations:

W: Oh, I can’t wait to see the Bridge of Sighs!
K: Will it make you bigger?
Me: Not that kind of ‘size’.
K: Oh… Will it make you smaller?
Me: Not that kind of ‘size’ either.
W: It’s not size, it’s siiiiighs.
Me: Do you know what a ‘sigh’ is?
K: Yes, it’s the sound you make when you’re tired after a long day of work.
Me: Exactly.

Then my son explained the whole prisoner thing and how the bridge got its name. And while it’s all very impressive that my nine-year-old knows the history of a bridge that most people don’t even know exists, the first half of the conversation was far more entertaining!

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Humor, Kid Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

