Back to Life, Back to Reality

You’re welcome for the ear worm. If you didn’t sing the title, you are not from my generation. But that’s ok, I still love you.

Today I am at work for the first time in just over three weeks. And it sucks. Not because I dislike my job – for the most part, I really enjoy my work and there are several coworkers that I’ve missed while I was away. But really anything after three weeks of vacation is going to suck!

I’m not just talking about three weeks of not going to work, but three weeks of full away-from-everything-and-life’s-everyday-hassles VACATION. Three weeks of someone else taking care of all the details, all the cooking, all the cleaning (ok, I had to do a couple small loads of laundry, but that was all the “work” I had to do). Three weeks during which the biggest stressor was getting to the proper meeting location in time for our guided tour excursion. Three weeks during which my only thought about dinner was whether we’d make it to the dining room in time for the amazing food, or have to go to the buffet for some really good food. Three weeks of being a pampered tourist every moment of every day.

It was also three weeks without my cell phone and computer. Three weeks of no news from social or traditional media. Three weeks without hearing about George Zimmerman or whatever else actually happened while we were away. Three weeks without reminders of all the things that are going wrong or even just not quite right in the world. The closest thing we had to a reality check was the occasional beggar, and even they were few and far between.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to turn a permanently blind eye to the harsh realities of life, but three weeks without them was pretty spectacular.

Now it’s back to real life. Back to work where people expect me to do more than just enjoy myself. Hundreds of emails and even a few meetings today (I KNOW!! But it’s my own fault for not blocking today off on my calendar). Back to a gray cubicle and florescent lights instead of ancient cities, blue seas, and Mediterranean sunshine.

It’s not just work either, back to real life means packing lunches, planning (and cooking) dinner, and cleaning up after ourselves. It means figuring out why our sprinkler system keeps flooding the backyard and who to call to get the crappy car towed now that it’s officially dead. It means back to school shopping, and signing the kids up for their winter sports even though it’s only August (don’t get me started), and taking care of an aging dog.

I do love my life, and I know 95% of the stuff is totally on me, and I embrace it. But sometimes I dream about a life of perpetual vacation. Not just staying at home, but actual away-from-it-all vacation. I’m sure there are downsides to living a life of perpetual leisure, but I sure can’t think of any right now.

Well, I suppose I should get ready for my first meeting of the day. *SIGH* Don’t they know I’d rather go get a pedicure??

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Feeling Good, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

