A Mother’s Role

I wrote this for my mom years ago.  I found it looking through some old folders on my computer today.  I hope one day my daughter feels this way about me.  Love you, Mom!

As an infant, I needed a nurse…

Someone to feed me, clean me and hold me at night

Someone to attend to my every need

 

As a toddler, I needed a teacher…

Someone to help me learn to speak, to walk, and to think

Someone to introduce me to the world

 

As an adolescent, I needed a guardian…

Someone to set boundaries, make rules, and enforce consequences

Someone to provide a foundation for my understanding of right and wrong

 

As a young adult, I needed a friend…

Someone to listen, to share my tears and laughter, and offer advice

Someone to turn to as I discovered myself and my place in this world

 

As a woman, I need a role model…

Someone with courage and strength, love and understanding, faith and hope

Someone who is the person I hope to become

 

Thank you, Mom, for being everything I have needed

In every stage of my life

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Important, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

