Holloween

Something wasn’t right about Halloween this year. I didn’t really notice it until now – I mean, I knew October vanished before I had the chance to enjoy any of it, but it seemed like we managed to pull off Halloween. We carved our jack-o-lanterns; costumes were good; trick-or-treating was the most fun yet when we ran into the kids’ friends.

But as I sit here now, digging through the candy bowls, I’m left with a hollow feeling. Where are the Kit Kats? The Snickers? The Milk Duds? The Reese’s-Freaking-Peanut Butter Cups?? I mean, really! All that walking and begging for candy and all they have to show for it are Butterfingers and Smarties? Don’t get me wrong, I love Smarties (for my Canadian friends, I mean the kind that taste like baby aspirin, not the chocolate kind (do they even make baby aspirin like that any more?)), but come on!

I do have to accept a certain amount of responsibility – I, myself, waited until the last possible moment to buy candy to hand out, so all I got was a mix of Gobstoppers and Butterfingers. But I presumed that the absence of good candy at the store meant that everybody else would have already purchased it and would be handing it out. Clearly I was mistaken.

It’s a sad, sad day when I can’t even steal the proper candy bars from children’s haul. Come on neighbors, let’s fix this for next year. I’ll do my part and shop earlier, but we all need to pull together. It’ll take teamwork, and I know we can do it! Let’s not let our children grow up thinking Halloween is only Butterfingers and Smarties, let’s show them what it’s really about: Kit Kats, Snickers, and Peanut Butter Cups!

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holloween

  1. Eric Kalgren says:

    And Nerds. There were no Nerds this year.

  2. Yep! The professor know what you mean about vanishing Halloween & October. Don’t blink too long or Christmas will be joining it behind us. Being Punchyish helps with missing out on the goodies & toys…

Leave a Reply

