Sweet Motivation

I’ve been trying to get my daughter to run with me.  She’s only 6, so there’s not a lot of pressure, but I didn’t like running until my 30’s and I want her to know the power of running much earlier in her life.  I’ve offered up some of the fun runs as a possibility and am always met with a “Naaah.”

Then, I saw that one of my friends was running the Chocoholic Frolic with her daughter over the weekend.  Chocolate!  My daughter’s kryptonite!  I called her over to the computer and showed her the picture of our friends, and then I went to the facebook page for the Chocoholic Frolic and showed her pictures of the chocolate cupcakes and chocolate bars that are awarded as prizes.  “You get a cupcake at every mile!” I said.  That may be an exaggeration; I know you get one at the first mile, I have no idea if it happens again after that.  But it doesn’t matter, because she was IN! (For next year of course.)

The next day we ran into another friend at the rink who saw that I had commented on facebook that I wanted to do the run with my daughter, and she asked about it.  I said, “Yep, she wants to do it with me.  Right, K?”  My daughter nodded her head.  Then she said, “Wait, how far is it?”

“5k,” I said, “so about 3 miles.”

“Ohmigosh!” she gasped.  Oh no! I panicked, she’s going to back out – she’s going to think 3 miles is way too much! It is kind of a lot for a kid… Then, with wide eyes she looked at me, “You mean I get three cupcakes??”

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Humor, Kid Stories, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Motivation

  1. Oh! This is fantastic!! I was at the spring chocoholic frolic. You guys got really good weather for your mommy/daughter run! I hope it went well. One of my favorite things is running with my daughter- though we don’t get to do it much as she’s much faster than me!
    I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. You can read the details here:http://nolongernakedrunning.com/2013/11/05/winners-the-lot-of-you-who-takes-the-really-big-cake-home-though/

Leave a Reply

