5:00 AM

It’s 5:00 am — well, 4:45 to be exact.

There’s no hockey practice, no soccer games, no piano lessons.

There’s no happy hour, no one-more-thing at work, no getting stuck in traffic.

There’s just me and the alarm.

I don’t need to hear the reasons – I know them all by heart. All boiling down to one simple truth: I am a better version of myself when I exercise.

Just me and the alarm and a commitment I made.

The commitment to myself is, of course, most important and yet has never been enough. So I made a commitment to a friend. And to a group of women who will, I hope, become friends.

At 5:00 am, I will get dressed and leave the house. I will go spend 45 minutes with my friend and these women. I will exercise with them, but I will do it for myself; for my sanity; for my family.

I will become a better version of myself because I deserve it; my kids deserve it; my husband deserves it.

No excuses.

Just me and the alarm and the promise of a better me. I win.

================================
*Note: I didn’t actually write this at 5:00 am, but I totally thought it.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Feeling Good, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

