Thank you to the ones who lift me up

Ugh, I just feel like I’m swimming in negativity lately – in the news, on facebook, at work. It’s everywhere, and as much as I joke about being a crabby person, this negativity has taken a turn and is dragging me into depths where I do not thrive. I don’t expect everybody to be in a good mood all the time (I am, as stated above, a generally crabby person!), but this is more than the usual bitch sessions that I think are an important part of life. You should always be able to tell the world that you’re having a bad day, or turn to a trusted friend and say, “Can you believe this shit?”, or message your sisters and say, “OMFG, did she just say that on facebook?” But it’s gotten so much more than that lately.

It’s been bouncing around in my head for weeks. How do I complain about complaining without adding my own vitriol to the swirl? I can’t. And thus I am reminded of a saying/quote/meme/whatever:

Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate.

So here is a THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart to all the people who make my days brighter.

Thank you to everybody who makes me laugh with a silly joke or funny story – especially my coworkers who keep me sane (relatively speaking) during a strange time in our department and company.

Thank you to the amazing ladies at boot camp who not only give me a reason to get out of bed at 4:45am three days a week, but make me look forward to it! Special thanks to our coach and my good friend who has this amazing ability to challenge us to push ourselves to work harder, by using only positive and encouraging inspiration.

Thank you to my husband and kids for being three of the top huggers in the world.

Thank you to everybody who knows the difference between a blog and an article and gives the appropriate amount of credit to research versus opinion.

Thank you to the people who know that not every piece of information should be shared with everyone; for those who can tell whether sharing information will be helpful or just plain hurtful to a person, relationship, situation, team, etc.

Thank you to SoundCloud, Rhapsody, and iHeartRadio for always having the right music to get me through a mood, whether it’s R3hab, DMB, Pink Floyd, or The Hunger Games soundtracks.

Thank you to the parents who remember to thank their children’s teachers, coaches, and other individuals who sacrifice so much of their time to benefit other people’s kids. Special thanks to those that bite their tongue when they have a criticism born of difference of opinion rather than a true concern for their child’s welfare.

Thank you to all the shoulders on which I cry, and all the listening ears that I fill with my problems.

Thank you to people who share pictures of cats falling off things more often than op-eds about how we should ALL be living our lives.

Thank you to my friends that can have a civil debate with me about actual, real issues without ever accusing me of being stupid, wrong, or misinformed just because we disagree.

Thank you to those who can listen to me vent (about kids, work, husbands, hangnails, anything) and then offer a hug (real or virtual) while holding back their opinion and advice on how they think I should be doing things differently.

Thank you to the people who take responsibility and take tangible action to make the world a better place instead of placing the onus solely on unseen forces.

Thank you to friends who always have the right pick-me-up, whether it’s an inspirational quote, a picture of Adam Levine, or a reminder of the number of days left until JT.

Thank you to all the parents who share pictures of their kids just being happy and just being kids, without always bringing up all the other baggage that comes with parenting.

Thank you to all the parents who are honest about all the other baggage that comes with parenting so none of us have to feel so alone in our frustrations.

Thank you to people who check Snopes when something flying around on the internet seems off.

Thank you to all the cultures that invented and perfected flatbreads – pitas, tortillas, naan, all of it.

Thank you to the people who treasure our individual differences and know that we can always learn something about life, the universe, and ourselves by exploring ideas rather than pushing conformity.

And a big, special thank you to everybody who reads my blog, and those who encourage me to keep writing. It keeps me from sinking too far into the depths where I do not thrive.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Random, Soap Box and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

