Life Lessons from a Child

wpid-wp-1420645296586.jpeg

Last year, in first grade, my daughter’s teacher had the students write in a “Life Book”. Throughout the school year, students brought in pictures or other meaningful items that could be pasted in the book and then wrote stories or descriptions about them. It was amazing to not only see the progress from the beginning of the school year to the end, but to get an extra glimpse into the mind of your six and seven year old.

Toward the end of the year, my daughter started a book within the book, called Life. Her first entry was a picture of her class with the following caption (spelling corrected):

Life is short, so we need memorable moments. Like think back when you were in first grade. Who were your friends?

I asked her where she got her inspiration for this. What made her think that life is short?

“From a sign at McCoy’s [Pub],” she replied. “It said, ‘Life is short. Eat cookies.'” Then she giggled, “Eat cookies.”

I had to giggle, too. The thought that such a profound idea was inspired by a trip to our local family-friendly semi-divey bar and restaurant put a smile on my face. The knowledge that, in her youthful innocence, she could glean such wisdom from a humorous wall hanging made my heart swell with pride and amazement.

This little girl of mine is almost eight now, and I wonder every single day where the time has gone. She is absolutely correct. Life is short. And I am so incredibly lucky that I have her to help fill it with memorable moments.

About perfectday

There is always something bumping around in my head, and if I leave it up there, I will go crazy. So I try to get my thoughts out onto paper (or the current equivalent). Mostly this blog is just for me to keep my sanity, but I also hope there's a nugget or two in there that other people find worth reading.
This entry was posted in Important, Kid Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

